Stillings & Buchinger, LLC
Wisconsin Divorce & Family Law Attorneys
Neenah - Menasha - Appleton - Fond du Lac - Eastern Wisconsin
FAQ's - Frequently Asked Questions
About Divorce, Custody, Support
How long do you have to live in Wisconsin to get a divorce?
Wisconsin law provides that a divorce may be filed in a county where one of the spouses has lived for at least thirty (30) days immediately prior to filing the action provided that spouse has been a resident of the state for at least six (6) months prior to filing.
Will my spouse or I need to tell the court why we want to divorce?
Wisconsin is a no-fault divorce state, which means, in short, that neither party must prove to the court that there is a reason for the court to grant the divorce. A statement by one party that the marriage is irretrievably broken is usually sufficient.
How long does it take to get divorce?
That depends, but the minimum amount of time will be 4 months because the law provides that 120 days must have elapsed from the filing of the divorce to the divorce hearing.
Can people under 18 get married?
Wisconsin laws state that a person must be at least 18 years of age before entering into marriage unless they have parental consent or are an emancipated adult.
Can people of the same sex marry in Wisconsin?
No, the law states that two people of opposite sex may marry.
Can my spouse stop me from divorcing him or her?
How much does it cost to get divorced?
That depends on several factors. If the husband and wife are in agreement on the critical matters that must be addressed and resolved for the court, it will cost much less than if the husband and wife are in total disagreement. A collaborative or cooperative divorce process avoids trial litigation, which means that it naturally costs less than a heavily litigated divorce.